Friday, April 16, 2010

Various Artists - Rvng of The Nrds Vol. 1-10 (2006-2010)

Ok, here it is. All 10 releases from the Rvng of the Nrds series. Enjoy.

10 Releases:

1. Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 1 (2006)
2. Betty Botox - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 2 (2006)
3. Mock & Toof - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 3 (2007)
4. Lovefingers - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 4 (2007)
5. Wade Nichols - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 5 (2008)
6. Jacques Renault - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 6 (2008)
7. Greg Wilson - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 7 (2008)
8. In Flagranti - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 8 (2009)
9. Jackpot - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 9 (2009)
10. Pilooski - Rvng Of The Nrds Vol. 10 (2010)

Download Part 1
Download Part 2

Laurent Garnier Presents Alaska - It's Just Muzik / Stargazing (2010)

Been revisiting a bit of the Crosstown Rebels stuff recently, love the older releases to be honest, but you can never go past a big of Laurent Garnier. Appearing under his Alaska guise this is a rather nice slice of head nodding minimal techno.


1. It's Just Muzik
2. Stargazing

Download @320kbps

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

LCD Soundsystem - This is Happening (2010)

Everyone else is posting it, so what the heck I might as well too. Been looking forward to this for a while and it certainly doesn't dissapoint.


1. Dance Yrself Clean
2. Drunk Girls
3. One Touch
4. All I Want
5. Change
6. Hit
7. Pow Pow
8. Somebody's Calling Me
9. What You Need

Download @320kbps

Monday, April 12, 2010

Matias Aguayo / Rebolledo - Bo Jack / Pitaya Frenesí (2009)

Not bad, not bad at all. Both tracks, all mixes. Particularly like the vocal mix of Pitaya Frenesí as featured on the latest Watergate Records compilation mixed by Ellen Allien.


1. Matias Aguayo Feat. Ladybumbox - Bo Jack
2. Matias Aguayo - Bo Jack (Inst.)
3. Rebolledo Feat. Matias Aguayo - Pitaya Frenesí (Vocal)
4. Rebolledo - Pitaya Frenesí (Inst.)

Download @320kbps

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Booka Shade - More! (2010)

Got it today and been listening to it on rotation all morning. Absolutely loving it, particularly the track "This Is Not Time". Enjoy.


1. Havanna Sex Dwarf
2. Donut (Interpretation)
3. Regenerate
4. The Door
5. Teenage Spaceman
6. Divine [ft. Yello]
7. Scaramanga
8. L.A. tely
9. Bad Love [ft. Chelonis R. Jones]
10. No Difference
11. This Is Not Time

Download @320kbps

Pilooski - Rvng of the Nrds Vol. 10 (2010)

Frenchman Cédric Marszewski is Pilooski. It was Castles in Space that originally put me onto his lazy beats about year or so ago with a selection of Pilooski remixes and re-edits that appeared on Dirty Edits. Great stuff too I might add. Here's another from the Rvng of the Nrds series.


1. AAA
2. OOO (Locked Groove)


Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Ramadanman - Ramadanman EP (2010)

Massive fan of his sound, in a world with some pretty average dubstep in it these days I hasten to say, loving this new EP.


1. I Beg You
2. No Swing
3. Tumble
4. A Couple More Years
5. Bleeper
6. Don't Change For Me

Download @320kbps

Various Artists - Pop Ambient 2007 (2006)

A continuation of Kompakt's annual ambient series, this one's from late 2006. Yes, a few years old and for those who follow me on Twitter you'll know I rediscovered this the other day by chance (that is the power of shuffle).I'm talking about The Field - Kappsta tune. Sampling the haunting vocals of Julee Cruise from Twin Peaks this is simply farking awesome by Axel Willner, who's styles seems to imitate the sounds you get from doing loops on a Pioneer CDJ, the kind that seem to irritate others but you think sound actually quite good. Also features another wholly underrated producer in my opinion, Popnoname, from Cologne and who's last 2 albums have been absolutely stellar. Keep in mind this is an ambient album, so smoke up and lie down.


1. Popnoname - Hafen
2. Markus Guentner - Altocomulus Opacus
3. Gas - Nach 1912
4. The Field - Kappsta
5. Thomas Fehlmann - Next To The Field
6, Triola - Das Wunder Der Kulperhütte
7. Marsen Jules - Où La Nostalgie Habite
8. Klimek - Ruined In A Day (Buenos Aires)
9. Ulf Lohmann - Lai King Est
10. Andrew Thomas - I Am Here Where Are You

Download @320kbps

Lusine - Lucky Numbers: The Ghostly International EPs (2010)

Absolutely love Lusine's sound, aka Jeff McIlwain, and he's been one of my favourite US producers for a while now. Was pretty excited to see Ghostly Records release this a few weeks ago. A lot of the tracks have appeared on earlier releases, B sides and the likes, but all and all it's essential fodder.

From Ghostly's website (your typical PR bollocks to be honest, skip it and take a listen:

Lucky Numbers’ tracks pull from Lusine’s equally vital past and present. McIlwain remixes himself in alternate versions of the sublime singles from 2009’s A Certain Distance, “Twilight” and “Two Dots” – both featuring Vilja Larjosto’s pristine vocals—and in an alternate take of haunted-house creeper “Crowded Room”; and unreleased tracks “John Doe” and “Rubberbands (Dirty Mix)” round out the collection. Lusine’s work may be hard to pigeonhole stylistically, but as a work of genre-defying art and floor-filling ingenuity, Lucky Numbers couldn’t be easier on the ears.


1. Push
2. Haze
3. Slapback
4. Excess
5. Inside/Out
6. Sunset
7. These Things
8. Keep Me Fading
9. Near Sight
10. Weaver
11. Emerald
12. Rubberbands
13. Two Dots (Reverse Engineered)
14. Twilight (Elliptical Mix)
15. Crowded Room (Type A)
16. John Doe (Unreleased 2005 Version)
17. Rubberbands (Dirty Mix)

Download Part 1 @320kbps
Download Part 2 @320kbps

Chloé - One In Other (2010)

Thanks to @simianaudio for putting me onto this new album by Paris based techno DJ Chloé. Been on repeat on my iPod the last few days and it's really starting to grow on me. In no way a series of repetitive banging beats either, but instead a well crafted electronic album with a load of different styles, and with some really interesting and quite unique sounds.


1. Word For Word
2. Diva
3. Distant
4. The Glow
5. One In Other
6. You
7. One Ring Circus
8. Fair Game
9. Slow Lane
10. Herselves
11. Ways Ahead


Monday, April 5, 2010

The Fauns - The Fauns [2009]

Posting this as I've been lisening to more shoegaze in between my electronic shenanigans recently. A brilliant example of what shoegaze should sound like in my opinion.


Initially a three piece in 2007, The Fauns are now firmly established as a live six piece fronted by vocalist Alison Garner. . “…The Fauns have it all just right. Gorgeous songs, delicious sounds, glowing textures and a perfect shoegazing delight of a debut album…”

The band recently released their highly acclaimed debut album “The Fauns” on Laser Ghost Recordings and have been promoting it with a mixture of both electric and acoustic shows. Early versions of their tracks have appeared on “The Secret Garden” and “Just Like A Daydream” compilations. With growing exposure The Fauns have received air play from BBC Radio 6’s Steve Lamacq and have recorded an acoustic session for BBC Radio Bristol Introducing.

The Fauns have played alongside legendary bands such as The Telescopes, The Durutti Column, The Pastels and were remixed by Robert Hampson from Loop. They are continuing to get high profile support slots recently playing an after show for Snow Patrol.

They are currently working on new material for a follow up album which is due later this year. 2010 will see many more dates around the UK and a European tour with The Telescopes lined up for the Summer. A video for “1991” is on the way as is a limited pressing of their debut album on vinyl which features an exclusive mix of “Cool Stuff”.


1. Lovestruck
2. Cool Stuff
3. Understand
4. The Sun Is Cruising
5. Fragile
6. Road Meets the Sky
7. Black Sand
8. Deranged
9. Come Around Again
10. 1991
11. Lovestruck(Tunnel Of Love Mix)

Download @320kbps